Church orderChurch order

Church officeChurch office

There is one office in the Lutheran Church. This office includes both pastors and bishops.

Denmark is divided into 10 dioceses, each presided over by a bishop. Bishops are elected by parish council members and pastors in the diocese. The office of the bishop is to oversee ministers and congregations in the diocese. The Bishop of Copenhagen holds a specific position of honour as primus inter pares. There is no office of archbishop.